History Stadtwirt

The Original Inn at Burgstrasse 5 is still known to many as the „Weinstadl“. This, the oldest maintained merchant estate in Munich is
one of the gems of the city’s history and listed on the historic registry. Located right next to the „Alten Hof“ or old courtyard, it is part of the historical city center dating back to the thirteenth century. In those days
it served well-to-do patrician families – primarily salt and wine merchants – as their stately urban dwelling.

The „Stadtschreiberei“, (office of the town clerk) and city’s Wine Repository.  From 1550 to 1612, the building between the Burgstrasse and Dienerstrasse housed the city clerk’s office as well as the office for the Isar river’s gold washing facility. The town clerk was one of Munich’s most important officers because he administered the city’s financial interests. Simultaneously, the city’s wine repository was housed in the building’s cellars and remained there until 1809. Domestic and imported wines were stored there and duty was assessed on them. This history is still visible today in the two gates through which wine coaches came and went. Already in those days there was a bar on the Dienerstrasse side, where wine was poured for the merchant families in the trade.

A scientifically historic moment occurred during the night of October 12, 1758 when councilman Johann von Linprun founded the „Bavarian Scholarly Association,“ with other like-minded people in his erstwhile residence in the Dienerstrasse.  Six months later, the regional „kurfuerst“ elevated the group to the „Bavarian Academy of Science“.

The Hofer showcases several architectural rarities. A tower, made of porous, tufaceous rock, in the inner courtyard dates from the late middle ages and is aptly named „the Snail“ for its circular staircase that winds its way up the interior of the tower.  Just behind the „Donkey’s Back Gate“ is hidden the so-called „Stairway to Heaven“, a steep staircase that leads up along all the stories of the building right up under the roof. And in the cellar and first floor, the gothic cross-shaped vaults are distinct and impressive. The dormers on both the right and left side of the roof – so-called „ears“– are typical of houses in Munich of this period.
The gorgeous Renaissance facade created by the famous Munich painter Hans Mielich dates from the mid-sixteenth century. It wasn’t  uncovered and restored until 1963 and now the facade finally shines in
its original glory in the Burgstrasse after a thorough cleaning in 2008.

Culture and Hospitality.
This signifcant building holds a piece of Munich’s history. Indebted to this rich history and tradition we give our food equal billing. In the kitchen our goal is to cultivate the long and delicious tradition of the Bavarian/Austrian cuisine.

In this spirit, join us and let yourself be spoiled by our chefs.
Enjoy a glass of wine or a beer from the tap. Cheers!

Hofer. Der Stadtwirt

  • Hofer der Stadtwirt - Historie